[<back] [next>] [last>>] 7 Products in this category

The Order of Orange-Nassau. brest star Grand Officer Cross

Product No.:
1 Week 1 Week
1 pieces
900,00 EUR
VAT exempt according to current tax regulations excl. Shipping costs

The Order of Orange-Nassau. brest star Grand Officer Cross
Number of awards:
manufactured: _________

Product Code:



Grand Officer Cross

Constitutor: Wilhelmina
Foundation date: 4.4.1892
Year award: 1892-
Origin / Provenance: -
Material: Silver /Gold + Emaille                  
Weight in (g). 61,9
Size in (mm). 83 x 83
Condition: II

The Order of Orange-Nassau (Dutch: Orde van Oranje-Nassau, Dutch pronunciation: [oˈrɑnjə ˈnɑsʌu]) is a military and civil Dutch order of chivalry founded on 4 April 1892 by the Queen regent Emma of the Netherlands, acting on behalf of her under-age daughter Queen Wilhelmina.

The Order is a chivalric order open to "everyone who has earned special merits for society". These are people who deserve appreciation and recognition from society for the special way in which they have carried out their activities. The lower grades of the order are comparable with the ranks of the Order of the British Empire in the UK, but it does not give recipients a title, a prefix or a post-nominal.


In 1841 William II of the Netherlands, as Grand Duke of Luxembourg, created the Order of the Oak Crown. Although this was officially not a Dutch order, honours were regularly conferred on Dutch people. After the death of William III, Luxembourg, according to the House-treaty, became the domain of the other branch of the House of Nassau. In the Netherlands the need for a third order, beside the military Order of William and Order of the Netherlands Lion was felt, so that royal honours could be conferred upon foreign diplomats and people from lower ranks and classes.

During World War II, the Order of Orange-Nassau was bestowed upon both members of the Netherlands military and members of foreign services who had helped liberate the Netherlands from Nazi Germany occupation, and those who helped liberate the former Dutch colonies in the Pacific. In the modern age, the Orange-Nassau is still the most active military and civil decoration of the Netherlands, and ranks after the Order of the Netherlands Lion. The Order is typically awarded each year on the Monarch's official birthday (currently April 27th) with a hundred or so appointments to the Order made public. The Order is also used to honour foreign princes, ministers, dignitaries and diplomats.

In 1994, the Dutch honours system was extensively revised after almost thirty years of discussion. This revision by law intended to create a more democratic honour system, disconnecting the level of the honours from rank and social status. In principle, since then everyone in Dutch society can be honoured. An honour is only awarded on the basis of special, personal merits for society. Before this revision the Order consisted of five grades with additional Honorary Medals (gold, silver and bronze). The Honorary medals were only affiliated with the Order and bearers were not formally included in the Order. In 1996, the Honorary medals were abolished and replaced by the Member Class of the Order of Orange-Nassau, which is reserved only for Dutch citizens.


The Officer's Cross (4th grade) in the Order of Orange-Nassau

Star and riband of a Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Orange-Nassau

The Order of Orange-Nassau has two divisions, civil and military, the former denoted by a wreath of laurel on the badges, and the latter by crossed swords on both the badges and the stars.

The King or Queen Regnant of the Netherlands is the Grand Master of the Order of Orange-Nassau.

Since 1996

In addition to this special grade, since 1996 the Order of Orange-Nassau has been issued in six classes:

 1.Knight Grand Cross - badge may be worn on a sash on the right shoulder, plus an 8-pointed star on the left chest;

 2.Grand Officer - badge may be worn by men on a necklet, and by women worn on a ribbon tied as a bow at the left chest. Also a 4-pointed star is worn on the left chest;

 3.Commander - badge may be worn by men on a necklet, and by women worn on a ribbon tied as a bow at the left chest;

 4.Officer - wears the badge on a ribbon with a rosette on the left chest;

 5.Knight - wears the badge on a ribbon on the left chest;

 6.Member - wears a smaller badge on a ribbon on the left chest.

Onlineshop by Gambio.de © 2013