[<back] [next>] [last>>] 4 Products in this category

The Order of the White Lion. Commander's Cross for Civilians 1922-1939

Product No.:
1 Week 1 Week
1 pieces
2.300,00 EUR
VAT exempt according to current tax regulations excl. Shipping costs

The Order of the White Lion. Commander's Cross for Civilians 1922-1939
Number of awards: RR
manufactured: _________

Product Code:



Commander's Cross

Constitutor: Tsche.   Regierung
Foundation date: 7.12.1922
Year award: 1922
Origin / Provenance: -
Material: Silber + Emaille            
Weight in (g). 64,7
Size in (mm). 59,5 x 118
Condition: II

The Order of the White Lion (Czech: Řád Bílého lva) is the highest order of the Czech Republic. It continues a Czechoslovak order of the same name created in 1922 as an award for foreigners. (Czechoslovakia had no civilian decoration for its citizens in the 1920s and 1930s). It was inspired by the Czech Nobility Cross created in 1814 by the Emperor and King Francis I and awarded to 37 Bohemian noblemen.


The order was created as an award for merit by Czechoslovakia for foreign citizens. The Order was established in five classes and two divisions, civil (with two crossed palms above the badge) and military (with two crossed swords above the badge). Medals were made of gold and silver. The numbers of recipients was originally limited, with the limits changing during later years. The Statutes of the order were amended in 1924, 1930, and 1936.

The badge of the Order was a five-sided red enameled star, the ends adorned with small balls, and with leaflets between the arms. In middle of the star is a silver lion, taken from the national coat of arms. The reverse or the Star is also red enameled, with the coat of arms of the former parts of Czechoslovakia (Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia, Slovakia and Carpathian Ruthenia).

I Class with collar - reserved for heads of state, introduced in 1924. Collar can be awarded separately. I Class - Grand cross - limited to 250 recipients II Class - Grand Officer - limited to 400 recipients III Class - Commander - limited to 900 recipients IV Class - Officer - limited to 1500 recipients, cross was smaller than the cross of the II/III class. V Class - Knight - limited to 3000 recipients, cross was similar to IV Class, but in silver. Gold medal Silver medal

Subsequent to World War II, the Order of the White Lion became an award to those who had helped liberate Czechoslovakia from occupation by Nazi Germany. Following the surrender of Germany in May 1945, a large number of foreign bestowals were made by presenting the Order of the White Lion to senior officers of the Allied militaries. Dwight Eisenhower and George S. Patton are two Americans who received the Order of the White Lion after the close of World War II. A similar Order with the same name, Military Order of the White Lion was instituted in 1945 and could be conferred upon both Czechoslovak citizens and foreigners.

Onlineshop by Gambio.de © 2013